Sri Lanka government survives no confidence vote

Sri Lanka’s government on Thursday survived a no-confidence vote in parliament after a majority of legislators voted to support the government.

Accordingly, 92 members voted in favour of the motion and 119 voted against. Joint Opposition and SLFP voted for, UNF and TNA voted against.

The Parliament on Wednesday began debating the no-confidence motion against the government presented by the JVP for failing to prevent Easter suicide bombings that killed more than 250 people.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *