Chamari to play in Women’s T20 Challenge 2019

Captain of the Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket team, Chamari Athapaththu has been chosen to represent one of three teams in the Women’s T20 Challenge 2019 which is scheduled to be held between 6th May and 11th May at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

Women’s T20 Challenge is an initiative of BCCI as a set up for a future T20 League in India for Women (A women’s version of IPL) and this year, there will be 3 teams competing in the tournament, Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity.

The three teams will be captained by Indian star players, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj respectively.

The tournament will have a round robin round and a final, making a total of 4 T20 matches to be held parallel to the Playoffs of IPL 2019.

Sri Lanka skipper, Chamari Athapaththu is drafted to play for the Supernovas as one of its 4 overseas players with the likes of global stars, Lea Tahutu (NZ), Natalie Sciver (Eng) & Sophie Divine (NZ).

When the Indian team toured the island last September (2018), Athapaththu was in good touch, racking up 205 runs in 3 WODIs & 107 runs in 5 WT20Is including a match winning hundred in the last WODI, chasing 253 runs.

After those performances, she achieved her career best rankings of 10th in the Women’s batting rankings.

This is the second edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge and last year’s competition was a solitary exhibition match between two teams with overseas players from only Australia, England and New Zealand. This year, India’s best cricketers and future stars will be joined by international players from England, New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *